Data Protection Notice

This website uses cookies and external resources that can be used to collect data about your usage behavior for the purpose of statistical analysis, convenience improvement and website optimization. If you agree to the use of cookies and external resources, please click on "Accept all". Privacy Policy

Allow technical necessary cookies only

Rudolf Schülke Foundation awards Hygiene Prize and Hygieia Medal


Every year the Rudolf Schülke Foundation awards the highly endowed Hygiene Prize and the Hygieia Medal for special merits and achievements in the field of hygiene.

Rudolf Schülke Foundation

From left to right: Prof. Konrad Botzenhart (Beirat, Rudolf Schülke Stiftung), Prof. Peter Heeg (Sprecher, Beirat, Rudolf Schülke Stiftung), Prof. Philippe Hartemann (Beirat, Rudolf Schülke Stiftung), Prof. Ursel Heudorf (Preisträgerin Hygieia Medaille), PD Dr. Frank A. Pitten (stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender, Rudolf Schülke Stiftung), Prof. Martin Exner (Vorstandsvorsitzender, Rudolf Schülke Stiftung), Dr. Bärbel Christiansen (Beirat, Rudolf Schülke Stiftung), Prof. Matthias Trautmann (Beirat, Rudolf Schülke Stiftung), Prof. Gabriel Bierbaum (Preisträgerin Hygiene Preis), Dr. Peter Oltmanns (Vorstand Rudolf Schülke Stiftung), Prof. Ricarda Schmithausen (Preisträgerin Hygiene Preis)
Esther Sib (Preisträgerin Hygiene Preis), Alexander Voigt (Preisträger Hygiene Preis), Dr. Lukas Wisgrill (Preisträger Hygiene Preis)

The Hygiene Prize of the Rudolf Schülke Foundation, which is endowed with € 15,000, was awarded this year to two young research teams:

The Ph.D. students Esther Sib and Alexander Voigt from the "One Health" working group of Dr. med. Dr. agr. Ricarda Schmithausen from the Institute for Hygiene and Public Health and Prof. Dr. Gabriele Bierbaum from the Institute for Medical Microbiology, Immunology and Parasitology of Bonn University Hospital, were awarded the Prize for the publication of their highly interesting research work on the assessment of the risk of spreading antibiotic resistances via biofilms in wastewater systems in hospitals. 

Dr. med. Lukas Wissgrill, from the Medical University of Vienna, received the Hygiene Prize for the publication of his influential study on the effectiveness of surveillance cultures and targeted decolonization of colonized very low birth weight infants of the infection rates with methicillin-susceptible S. aureus.

The Hygieia Medal was awarded to Prof. Dr. med. Ursel Heudorf for her outstanding lifetime commitment to hygiene, environmental medicine and public health. Her high level of scientific expertise, her ability to find practice-oriented solutions in a partnership approach, her extraordinary involvement in many committees along with her authorship in numerous publications have a role model function.

The award ceremony took place after this year’s symposium on “Hygiene Policies in European Health Care Facilities – How to Harmonize the Discrepancies in Europe”.


Sib W, Voigt AM, Wilbring G, Schreiber C, Faerber HA, Skutlarek D, Parcina M, Mahn R. Wolf D, Brossart P, Geiser F, Engelhart S, Exner M, Bierbaum G, Schmithausen RM. Antibiotic resistant bacteria and resistance genes in biofilms in clinical wastewater networks. IJHEH 2019;222(4):655-662.

Wisgrill L, Zizka J, Unterasinger L, Rittenschober-Böhm J, Waldhör T, Maikristathis A, Berger A. Active Surveillance Cultures and Targeted Decolonization Are Associated with Reduced Methicillin-Susceptible Staphylococcus aureus Infections in VLBW Infants. Neonatology 2017;112:267-273.


Customer Sales Service

Mo. - Do. 8:00 - 16:30 Uhr
Fr.           8:00 - 15:00 Uhr

Tel.: +49 40 52100-666

Rückruf anfordern